The Clifford Prize for Cancer Research is an International Prize awarded in recognition of outstanding cancer research leading to significant clinical outcomes. The Prize, awarded at the biennial Barossa Meetings, consists of a Perpetual Trophy and a glass sculpture (both manufactured by Nick Mount). The awardee also receives a magnum of Clarendon Hills ‘Astralis’.

Previous awardees were Axel Ullrich (2005), Tony Hunter (2007), John Dick (2009), Vishva Dixit (2011), Arul Chinnaiyan (2013), Inder Verma and Jane Visvader (2015), and Joseph Schlessinger (2017).

Nominations for the award should include the candidate’s full CV, and a brief description of the candidate’s contributions to cancer research, highlighting the impact of the work on cancer treatment.

Nominations should be submitted by mail or email to:

Professor Natasha Harvey
Director, Centre for Cancer Biology,
UniSA Bradley Building, cnr North Terrace & Morphett St bridge
GPO Box 2471 Adelaide SA 5001 | Mailroom IPC: CWE-44
T: +61 8 8302 7835 |

Note that it is a requirement that the recipient of the award attends the Barossa Meeting to receive the award and to present a talk describing the work that has led to the award.

Nominees will be judged by an independent panel of Australian Scientists together with previous winners.